Skip to content

Buried

November 17, 2011

As you may have guessed from our recent silence here on the blog, we metamayhemers are barely keeping afloat in a sea of school work and job applications. I thought that I’d pass along a few resources that are helping me with the job application process:

  • Nailing the Library Interview by Library Dude: Lots of great questions to think about as you’re preparing for the interview.
  • Job Tips for Future/Recent LIS Grads by Hack Library School: Tips for the whole process from deciding where to apply to dealing with rejection.
  • Open Cover Letters: Who likes to write cover letters? Nobody, that’s who. This is a great resource for seeing a huge variation in successful cover letters and for dissecting approaches to highlighting specific experiences.

In the realm of other professional activities, I will be presenting my first professional poster session this year and had relegated the poster design to some amorphous future date. Basically, I figured I’d freak out about it later. This link about designing conference posters by Colin Purrington popped into my inbox and now I’m pretty excited about designing my poster, and I feel like I have the tools to do it successfully.

And finally, from the department of Random but Related, a little bit of pretty for your day – illustrations of what it’s like to be on the road with Thao and Mirah by Wendy MacNaughton.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

